Bingo's Run

Bingo's Run

For fans of Dave Eggers, Teju Cole, and James McBride, comes this extraordinary novel of morality and the redemptive powers of art that offers a glimpse into an African underworld rarely described in fiction. Meet Bingo, the greatest drug runner in the slums of Kibera, Nairobi, and maybe the world. A teenage grifter, often mistaken for a younger boy, he faithfully serves Wolf, the drug lord of Kibera. Bingo spends his days throwing rocks at Krazi Hari, the prophet of Kibera’s garbage mound, “lipping” safari tourists of their cash, and hanging out with his best friend, Slo-George, a taciturn fellow whose girth is a mystery to Bingo in a place where there is never enough food. Bingo earns his keep by running “white” to a host of clients, including Thomas Hunsa, a reclusive artist whose paintings, rooted in African tradition, move him. But when Bingo witnesses a drug-related murder and Wolf sends him to an orphanage for “protection,” Bingo’s life changes and he learns that life itself is the “run.” A modern trickster tale that draws on African folklore, Bingo’s Run is a wildly original, often very funny, and always moving story of a boy alone in a corrupt and dangerous world who must depend on his wits and inner resources to survive. ONE OF LIBRARY JOURNAL’S OUTSTANDING NEW VOICES TO CONSIDER “Bingo’s voice guides us; by turns he is aggressive, confident, smart, cynical, but also naive. Bingo tosses his observations at us with great urgency, almost percussively, in a staccato manner that recalls gunshots. And though he’s blunt, he’s also a sensitive observer. . . . Levine is creating a sense of an entire world, raffish and fast. . . . The larger story Levine is telling . . . is the story of a person’s mind, and of the good, bad, and indifferent forces that make him what he is—and that story is told with compassion and intelligence.”—The Boston Globe “James A. Levine is a deeply gifted writer who reaches into the dirt, sweat, and diesel of modern-day Nairobi and introduces us to a young innocent whose adventures are unforgettable. Bingo’s runs between joy and death, laughter and sorrow, survival and redemption, will make you feel like cheering.”—James McBride, author of The Good Lord Bird and The Color of Water “Bingo’s Run is one of those rare books that infuse a potentially difficult subject with intimacy, tenderness, and humor. Social commentary, gritty comedy, and pure cinematic adrenaline meet in an utterly compelling novel with a voice all its own.”—Tash Aw, author of Five Star Billionaire “Bingo’s Run manages to read like timely news and high adventure at the same time. Levine’s main character, Bingo, is an underage drug runner, hardened orphan, and hustler extraordinaire. He’s also funny and wise well beyond his years. The rousing story of Bingo’s evolution is matched only by Levine’s portrait of modern-day Nairobi, both child and city depicted with real flair and affection.”—Victor LaValle, author of The Devil in Silver “Bingo is a fascinating and inimitably likable character. Levine, a Mayo clinic professor of medicine and well-known child advocate, excels at telling his adventurous, comic, and realistically gritty story with humor but not with pathos, successfully addressing the harsh and sometimes tragic story of a child at risk.”—Library Journal


Author
Publisher Random House
Release Date
ISBN 1588369471
Pages 304 pages
Rating 4/5 (75 users)

More Books:

Bingo's Run
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: James A. Levine
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-01-07 - Publisher: Random House

For fans of Dave Eggers, Teju Cole, and James McBride, comes this extraordinary novel of morality and the redemptive powers of art that offers a glimpse into an
Bingo Capitalism
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Kate Bedford
Categories: Law
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-09-26 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

Casinos are often used by political economists, and popular commentators, to think critically about capitalism. Bingo - an equal chance numbers game played in m
Love Warps the Mind a Little: A Novel
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: John Dufresne
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-01-17 - Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

Reissue of a favorite novel by “a generous and lyric storyteller” (San Francisco Chronicle) known for his tragicomic voice and unforgettable characters. Eve
American Motorcyclist
Language: en
Pages: 124
Authors:
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1999-03 - Publisher:

American Motorcyclist magazine, the official journal of the American Motorcyclist Associaton, tells the stories of the people who make motorcycling the sport th
Running the Numbers
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Matthew Vaz
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020 - Publisher: Historical Studies of Urban Am

"Strictly and widely illegal, the most common manifestations of urban gambling were once "the numbers game" and "policy," in which people would place daily bets
Federal Government's Relationship with American Indians
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: United States. Congress. Senate. Select Committee on Indian Affairs. Special Committee on Investigations
Categories: Indians of North America
Type: BOOK - Published: 1989 - Publisher:

Run, It Might Be Somebody
Language: en
Pages: 281
Authors: Ephraim Romesberg
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2005-10-24 - Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

Book Summary of Run It Might Be Somebody By Ephraim Romesberg The book covers a span of over 70 years starting with the author as a shy sickly boy who was the l
Gambling on Indian Reservations and Lands
Language: en
Pages: 708
Authors: United States. Congress. Senate. Select Committee on Indian Affairs
Categories: Gambling
Type: BOOK - Published: 1985 - Publisher:

Bingo the Winner
Language: en
Pages: 144
Authors: Autum Augusta
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-11-01 - Publisher: Trafford Publishing

This is a story of a lovable dog that was dognapped three times. Bingo went from near death to living like a king. This is Bingo's story through his eyes.
Gambling Research: Public policy and commercial gaming industries throughout the world
Language: en
Pages: 466
Authors: William R. Eadington
Categories: Gambling
Type: BOOK - Published: 1988 - Publisher: